Sri Lanka women’s tour of England dates, venues changed


The women’s white-ball tour of England has been rescheduled this year at the request of the touring side after fixtures in Sri Lanka were confirmed for the women’s cricket tournament at the Asian Games.

The ECB announced on Tuesday that it has agreed to move the tour slightly and change some of the venues ahead of the Asian Games in Hangzhou, China, from September 23 to October 8. The Games were pushed back to September 2022 amid COVID-19 concerns. in China.

Sri Lanka and England were to play three T20Is from September 2-9 followed by three ODIs from September 14-19. The series will now begin on 31 August with Howe playing the first of three T20Is instead of the originally scheduled ODI on 17 September. The T20Is will now be played at Chelmsford on 2 September and Derby on 6 September.

The three-match ODI series begins on September 9 in Durham. Durham was to host the first T20I. Northamptonshire will host the second ODI on 12 September and the third ODI in Leicester on 14 September. The Ashes series that precedes the tour of Sri Lanka scheduled there.

Existing ticket holders for any England Women v Sri Lanka Women fixture will be contacted by their host venue with confirmation of how they have been affected and Kent have already said that a full refund will be offered to ticket holders for the Canterbury game will get.

Simon Storey, CEO of Kent Cricket, said: “We are obviously disappointed not to be able to host a women’s international match in Canterbury this year following successful matches in recent summers.” Canterbury’s Spitfire Ground was the venue for Harmanpreet Kaur143 not out last year 2nd ODI against EnglandWhich was part of India’s 3-0 series sweep.

revised schedule
Vitality Women’s T20Is
1st T20I: England v Sri Lanka, Thursday 31 August 2023, The 1st Central County Ground, Hove
2nd T20I: England v Sri Lanka, Saturday 2 September, The Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford
3rd T20I: England v Sri Lanka, Wednesday 6 September, The Incora County Ground, Derby

one day series
1st ODI: England v Sri Lanka, Saturday 9 September, Seat Unique Riverside, Chester-le-Street
2nd ODI: England v Sri Lanka, Tuesday 12 September, The County Ground, Northampton
3rd ODI: England v Sri Lanka, Thursday 14 September, Uptonsteel County Ground, Leicester

Source link